top of page
  • Writer's pictureRaidah Arif

Teach and Speech

This was the week where I completed the reflection and original work speech, which is the second large speech that we did during this year. This speech was a challenge for me to complete because I had to fix up the last part of my speech while also making sure that I made it within the time requirements. Although I tried to practice with things that I struggled with during my last speech such as raising my voice and relying less on notes, I think that I still have a long way to go in terms of improvement. Although I think I did better on the primary and secondary sources of this speech, I still want to change and improve my introduction, conclusion, and original work sections. After I finished my speech, I evaluated some of my peers, which gave me good insight into how to make my own speech better in the future. I also completed a research assessment on asthma education, which is a topic that I want to focus on for the next few weeks due to it playing such an important role in my final product. I also completed my mentor bio and am also in the process of working out issues with the mentorship process because of changing rules at UT Southwestern about shadowing. It worries me a bit that it won't work out, but I will remain confident until that and persevere through difficulties. Next week, I'll continue to work on my research, work on my mentorship, and maybe even start to schedule my first mentor visit.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Bittersweet Goodbye

This last blog is completed after finishing my final presentation which ended up being a success. Although I was very nervous about my mentor hearing my speech, it went even better than I expected and

Reflection

This week in ISM was an important one because it is the week after I finished final product, and now that it is complete, I can reflect on my process with it. In the end, I'm extremely happy with how

The Hurricane

Now that there is one week left until final product is due, it has come into perspective how much work I have left to complete. Although I’ve finished the hardest part of my program, the curriculum, I

bottom of page