top of page
  • Writer's pictureRaidah Arif

Dress to Impress

Two of the focuses of this week we’re learning how to dress professionally and working on my second research assessment. During the professional dress presentation, I real\ized that there were a lot more factors that go into dressing than I thought such as nail color, jewelry, makeup, and even the placement of where the slit is in a skirt. By learning the principles of professional dress, I also learned the importance of first impressions and how it is crucial to the start of any good membership. A first impression can make or break a potential connection so I made sure to pay good attention so that I can be a strong mentee. As I can be a bit shy and soft-spoken when it comes to new people, I will try to be alert, confident and make my presence clear during my interviews. Some of the things that I want to work on are my initial introduction, maintaining good eye contact, projecting my voice, and having a strong handshake. I did my second research assessment and this article gave me so many ideas for what I could do for my original work proposal. I also made a resume which I plan to go back in later and revise to perfect. I still face many of the same challenges as I did last week with vocabulary and terminology, but this is something that I plan to take slowly. I am now looking to make connections to end off a successful week.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Bittersweet Goodbye

This last blog is completed after finishing my final presentation which ended up being a success. Although I was very nervous about my mentor hearing my speech, it went even better than I expected and

Reflection

This week in ISM was an important one because it is the week after I finished final product, and now that it is complete, I can reflect on my process with it. In the end, I'm extremely happy with how

The Hurricane

Now that there is one week left until final product is due, it has come into perspective how much work I have left to complete. Although I’ve finished the hardest part of my program, the curriculum, I

bottom of page